Term dates

Home > About us > Term dates

The school day at Latymer starts with dedicated tutor time at 8.25am – lessons begin at 8.55am.  A 75-minute lunch break gives pupils plenty of time for extra-curricular clubs and sports.  Co-curricular sports training, drama and music rehearsals run after the school day has finished at 4pm.

There are 35 teaching periods in the week, each of 45 minutes, but unlike many schools, our timetable is spread over two weeks. This system accommodates double periods of 90 minutes for some subjects, allowing pupils to really immerse themselves in their subjects.

Autumn term 2019Date
Staff INSEDMonday 2 & Tuesday 3 September (school closed to pupils)
Term beginsWednesday 4 September
Merit halfFriday 18 October after Founder's Day Service
Half termMonday 21 October - Friday 1 November
Term endsFriday 13 December
Spring term 2020Date
Staff INSEDMonday 6 January (school closed to pupils)
11+ Entrance examTuesday 7 January (school closed to pupils)
Term beginsWednesday 8 January
Half termMonday 17 - Friday 21 February
Term endsFriday 27 March
Easter weekendFriday 10 - Monday 13 April
Summer term 2020Date
Term beginsMonday 20 April
Bank holidayFriday 8 May
Staff INSED dayFriday 22 May (school closed to pupils)
Half termMonday 25 - Friday 29 May
Activities WeekMonday 29 June - Friday 3 July
Term endsFriday 10 July
Autumn term 2020Date
Bank holidayMonday 31 August
Staff INSEDTuesday 1 & Wednesday 2 September - school closed to pupils
Term beginsThursday 3 September
Merit half12pm Friday 16 October (after Founder's Day service)
Half termMonday 19 - Friday 30 October
Term endsFriday 11 December
Spring term 2021Date
Staff INSEDMonday 4 January - school closed to pupils
11+ examTuesday 5 January - school closed to pupils
Term beginsWednesday 6 January
Half termMonday 15 - Friday 19 February
Term endsWednesday 31 March
Easter WeekendFriday 2 - Monday 5 April
Summer term 2021Date
Staff INSEDMonday 19 April - school closed to pupils
Term beginsTuesday 20 April
Bank holidayMonday 3 May
Staff INSEDFriday 21 May (school closed to pupils, except exam candidates)
Half termMonday 31 May - Friday 4 June
Activities WeekMonday 28 June - Friday 2 July
Term endsThursday 8 July

Discover more

Admissions
Admissions
Academic
Academic
Co-curricular
Co-curricular
Join our team
Join our team
Skip to toolbar